INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION SERVICES
Search

Caring for Family Pets: Choosing and Keeping Our Companion Animals Healthy

Publisher: Abc-Clio
ISBN: 9780313385278
Products specifications
Author Radford G. Davis
Pub Date 20/10/2011
Binding Hardback
Pages 225
Country United States
Dewey 636.0887
GBPPrice 40.00
€49.38
decrease increase
This book helps pet owners fully understand what it means to care for a companion animal, from choosing a pet to veterinary visits and beyond. Pets are extremely popular in the United States. According to a recent survey, one third of American homes contain one or more cats; almost 40 percent of U.S. households include at least one dog. Pets serve as cherished companions for everyone from young children to senior citizens. However, there are responsibilities and risks involved with pet ownership, and the proper care of these animals that many consider "family" involves much more than keeping a water dish and food bowl full. This book is written by top animal health experts to explain our roles, rights, and health care challenges when bringing animals into our homes. Topics such as health, first aid, companion animal diseases, common surgeries, and alternative care for pets are all addressed. Information is also provided about pet birds, large pets such as horses, exotics such as snakes and reptiles, and "pocket pets" such as hamsters, gerbils, guinea pigs, and rats. Contains contributions from 13 nationally recognized veterinarians who are board certified in their respective fields Includes a bibliography with most chapters Includes a resource list of additional information organized by topic and type of animal Provides sidebars and tables offering quick reference info on health and disease in pets Serves as a ready reference for pet owners as well as a text for high school and college students focused on veterinary medicine and animal science and health
This book helps pet owners fully understand what it means to care for a companion animal, from choosing a pet to veterinary visits and beyond. Pets are extremely popular in the United States. According to a recent survey, one third of American homes contain one or more cats; almost 40 percent of U.S. households include at least one dog. Pets serve as cherished companions for everyone from young children to senior citizens. However, there are responsibilities and risks involved with pet ownership, and the proper care of these animals that many consider "family" involves much more than keeping a water dish and food bowl full. This book is written by top animal health experts to explain our roles, rights, and health care challenges when bringing animals into our homes. Topics such as health, first aid, companion animal diseases, common surgeries, and alternative care for pets are all addressed. Information is also provided about pet birds, large pets such as horses, exotics such as snakes and reptiles, and "pocket pets" such as hamsters, gerbils, guinea pigs, and rats. Contains contributions from 13 nationally recognized veterinarians who are board certified in their respective fields Includes a bibliography with most chapters Includes a resource list of additional information organized by topic and type of animal Provides sidebars and tables offering quick reference info on health and disease in pets Serves as a ready reference for pet owners as well as a text for high school and college students focused on veterinary medicine and animal science and health
*
*
*
Customers who bought this item also bought

The Dragon In The Library

9781788000260
Stowell, Louie
Save the library, save the world! Kit can't STAND reading. She'd MUCH rather be outside, playing games and getting muddy, than stuck inside with a book.
€8.40

Looking After Your Mental Health

9781474937290
Stowell, Louie
We talk about our physical health - but not so much about how we're feeling. With lots of practical advice, this lively, accessible guide explains why we have emotions, and what can influence them. Covering everything from friendships, social media and bullying to divorce, depression and eating disorders, this is an essential book for young people.
€8.42

InvestiGators

9781529054378
Green, John Patrick
InvestiGators written and illustrated by John Patrick Green is the side-splitting full-colour graphic novel, perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey.
€9.63

Barney the Horse and Other Tales from the Farm: A Farms for City Children Book

9780008451516
Michael Morpurgo
€15.28

The Imagination Chamber

9780702315510
Philip Pullman
€15.28

Addy's Cup of Sugar (PB)

9780702310119
Jon J. Muth
€8.63
Filters
Sort
display